My View Screen

News, Views, and Reviews

My New Computer

Cobra PC

As much as I enjoy playing games on my Xbox 360, lately I’ve decided to turn more seriously to PC gaming. When I was the owner of a console and computer gaming center, I had the privilege of playing PC games at work. Being economically responsible, I had to choose quantity over quality, buying a lot of mid-range gaming PCs instead of one high-end system I could call my own. Now that I’ve moved on from my game center responsibilities, I can now indulge a little and purchase a high-end gaming machine.

And now I can’t wait! It took me a few days to comb through several online retailers and wholesalers, pricing parts and determining how high I wanted to go and how much I was willing to spend. OK I admit it, by “a few days” I mean weeks and weeks. But I’m pretty proud of the result:

Cobra Inside

Intel’s i7-3820 3.6 GHz quad-core CPU, 16 GB of DDR3 1600MHz RAM, 2TB 6.0GB/s 64MB cache 7200 RPM HDD, 12x Blu-ray drive, and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660Ti 2GB GPU. For just under $1500. This means I’ll be playing every game on MAX settings. Not high settings, not “ultra” settings, but MAX settings. Well, every game but Far Cry 3, which will play on high settings. The ASUS P9X79 LE Intel X79 motherboard supports up to 3-Way SLI/Crossfire, so I could put in a second GTX 660Ti video card and get MAX settings in every game.

To make this even more exciting, I’m putting this beast-machine in the living room on a 37″ HDTV. Aside from a few Xbox exclusives (that I love) like Halo, I’m going to transition my game library to this computer, so I don’t have to keep going back and forth from PC to Xbox. That way, I’ll not only get the best of both worlds, I’ll literally get the best (MAX settings!) out of the PC versions.

Unfortunately, I’m expecting a 2-3 week wait, which means I *might* get it in time for games like Crysis 3 and Tomb Raider 3, both pre-ordered. I’m sure the Xbox versions will be spectacular, but this is a whole new world I’m entering. MAX settings! I can’t wait!

3 comments on “My New Computer

  1. Ryan Fredrick
    February 16, 2013

    Dang dave! im super jealous, i’m actually looking for a new PC too. I got about $1000 to spend! I have been searching for ever! Let me know of any good sights i could look at!
    – Ryan

  2. tekarukite
    February 17, 2013

    I went to cyberpowerpc.com. I started thinking I’d only spend $1000 and upgrade later, but then I was like…I might as well upgrade it now. And it will last longer without having to mess with it. Hope it works out that way!

  3. Pingback: PC Overkill | My View Screen

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2013 by in PC Gaming and tagged , .
